The Royal Abbey of Saint-Riquier



625

YEAR OF FOUNDATION

5

HECTARES OF DOMAIN

100

THOUSANDS OF VISITORS





Saint-Riquier, rebirth of an Abbey


A documentary produced by France 3 for the magazine "Why seek further": Saint-Riquier, rebirth of an Abbey.

Owned by the Somme Departmental Council since 1972, the Royal Abbey of Saint-Riquier now hosts a cultural center dedicated to live shows, with a rich, diverse and high-quality program.







History


It was founded by the future Saint Riquier in 625, on a source, the object of a very ancient pagan cult. The abbey became royal in 632 under the protection granted to it by Dagobert I. It was Charlemagne himself who entrusted his son-in-law, Angilbert, with the construction of a new and vast abbey with the noblest materials, thus forging a model of religious architecture for ecclesiastical buildings in the West. Thanks to a library that has become, over the centuries, one of the most important in Europe, and to a scriptorium active in particular in the creation and dissemination of the tiny carolina, the abbey plays a considerable role in the conservation and transmission of knowledge until the end of the 12th century. A jewel of Gothic architecture, the Abbey has experienced many destruction due to fires and looting but remains today one of the most beautiful buildings in France, in particular thanks to the work carried out by Charles d'Aligre in the 17th century. The Royal Abbey is today a departmental cultural center dedicated to live shows: theater, dance, music ... For more than thirty years, the walls of the abbey church have resounded, every summer, to the harmonies of musicians coming to perform at the Festival de Saint-Riquier - Baie de Somme to the delight of music lovers.



Abbey Church


The Abbey Church of Saint-Riquier is a unique example of the evolution of Gothic architecture, exhibiting elements belonging to early Gothic, classical and flamboyant. The facade of the abbey dates from the beginning of the 16th century and has the particularity of being dominated by a single central tower which rises to 50 meters, without windows, allowing a deployment of statues embedded in a dense network of arches and of lines. The central tympanum, representing the tree of Jesse, is crowned by a statuary representing the Trinity, two abbots and the apostles. It is overlooked by depictions of the Coronation of the Virgin, Saint Michael, Adam and Eve, the prophets Moses and Elijah. Since the 20th century, numerous works have been undertaken to restore elements of the various faces, in particular the buttresses and the interior facings. The western facade was completely restored by reconstituting certain elements of destroyed statues and revealing many polychromic elements. The abbey, owned by the city, became a parish church during the French Revolution. It and 28 of its 59 statues are classified historical monument by Prosper Mérimée from the first decree of 1840.



The abbey


In the 19th century, the greatest authors, including Victor Hugo, notably admired the two impressive statues which adorn the pillars of the nave and which recall the important stage that was the Royal Abbey of Saint-Riquier on the paths of Saint- Jacques de Compostela. The wings of the abbey, in the 17th-18th century style, house not only a theater dedicated to live shows but also exhibition and seminar rooms.



19th century buildings


The "small schools" installed in the park, in the extension of the east wing, were built in the 19th century to house the classrooms of a minor seminary. Two Picardy barns from the beginning of the 19th century, from Omécourt in the Oise, were reassembled in the Abbey park during the 1980s, respecting traditional materials and techniques.



The abbey house


The abbey dwelling is one of the most authentic testimonies of the 17th century Maurist Abbey. Built during the time of Charles d'Aligre, it was bought during the Revolution by the parish priest and then used by the minor seminary. It remained largely intact until the German military occupation.



The park and the gardens


At the bend of a promenade, one can admire the Picardy barns, the "small schools" and the perimeter wall forming an almost closed square garden with trees. Over approximately 3 hectares are planted 300 fruit trees: apple, pear, cherry, peach, plum, but also chestnut, walnut and hazelnut trees, as well as around a hundred ornamental trees. The park and barns are also home to works of art, especially on the occasion of contemporary art exhibitions or on a permanent basis.

L'Abbaye royale de Saint-Riquier



625

ANNÉE DE FONDATION

5

HECTARES DE DOMAINE

100

MILLIERS DE VISITEURS





Saint-Riquier, renaissance d'une Abbaye


Un documentaire réalisé par France 3 pour le magazine "Pourquoi chercher plus loin" : Saint-Riquier, renaissance d'une Abbaye.

Propriété du Conseil départemental de la Somme depuis 1972, l'Abbaye royale de Saint-Riquier accueille aujourd’hui un centre culturel dédié aux spectacles vivants, avec une programmation riche, diversifiée et de qualité.







Histoire


Elle est fondée par le futur saint Riquier en 625, sur une source, objet d’un culte païen très ancien. L’abbaye devient royale en 632 par la protection que lui accorde Dagobert 1er. C’est Charlemagne en personne qui confia à son gendre, Angilbert, la construction d’une nouvelle et vaste abbaye avec les matériaux les plus nobles, forgeant ainsi un modèle d'architecture religieuse pour les constructions ecclésiastiques de l’Occident. Grâce à une bibliothèque devenue, au fil des siècles, l’une des plus importantes d’Europe, et à un scriptorium actif notamment dans la création et la diffusion de la minuscule caroline, l’abbaye joue un rôle considérable dans la conservation et la transmission des savoirs jusqu’à la fin du XIIème siècle. Joyau de l'architecture gothique, l’Abbaye a connu de nombreuses destructions dûes aux incendies et aux pillages mais reste aujourd'hui l'un des plus beaux édifices de France, notamment grâce aux travaux réalisés par Charles d'Aligre, au XVIIème siècle. L'Abbaye royale est aujourd'hui un centre culturel départemental dédié aux spectacles vivants : théâtre, danse, musique... Depuis plus de trente ans, les murs de l'abbatiale résonnent, chaque été, aux harmonies des musiciens venant se produire au Festival de Saint-Riquier - Baie de Somme pour le plus grand plaisir des mélomanes.



L’abbatiale


L’abbatiale de Saint-Riquier est un exemple unique de l’évolution de l’architecture gothique, présentant des éléments appartenant au gothique primitif, classique et flamboyant. La façade de l’abbatiale date du début du XVIème siècle et a la particularité d’être dominée par une unique tour centrale qui s’élève à 50 mètres, sans fenêtres, permettant un déploiement de statues enchâssées dans un réseau dense d’arcatures et de lignes. Le tympan central, représentant l’arbre de Jessé, est couronné par une statuaire représentant la Trinité, deux abbés et les apôtres. Il est surplombé par des représentations du couronnement de la Vierge, de Saint Michel, d’Adam et Eve, des prophètes Moïse et Elie. Depuis le XXème siècle, de multiples travaux sont entrepris pour restaurer des éléments des différentes faces, notamment les contreforts et les parements intérieurs. La façade occidentale fut intégralement restaurée en reconstituant certains éléments de statues détruits et faisant apparaître de nombreux éléments polychromiques. L'abbatiale, propriété de la ville, est devenue église paroissiale à la Révolution française. Elle et 28 de ses 59 statues sont classées monument historique par Prosper Mérimée dès le premier arrêté de 1840.



L'abbaye


Au XIXème siècle, les plus grands auteurs, dont Victor Hugo, ont admiré notamment les deux statues impressionnantes qui ornent les piliers de la nef et qui rappellent l’étape importante que fut l’Abbaye royale de Saint-Riquier sur les chemins de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle. Les ailes de l'abbaye, de style XVII-XVIIIe siècle, abritent non seulement un théâtre dédié aux spectacles vivants mais également des salles d'exposition et de séminaire.



Les bâtiments du XIXe siècle


Les « petites écoles » installées dans le parc, dans le prolongement de l’aile Est, furent construites au XIXème siècle pour abriter les salles de classes d’un petit séminaire. Deux granges picardes du début du XIXème siècle, provenant d’Omécourt dans l’Oise, ont été remontées dans le parc de l’Abbaye au cours des années quatre-vingt, en respectant les matériaux et les techniques traditionnelles.



Le logis abbatial


Le logis abbatial est l’un des témoignages les plus authentiques de l’Abbaye mauriste du XVIIème siècle. Construit à l’époque de Charles d’Aligre, il fut acheté à la Révolution par le prêtre de la paroisse et utilisé ensuite par le petit séminaire. Il resta quasiment intact jusqu’à l’occupation militaire allemande.



Le parc et les jardins


Au détour d’une promenade, on peut y admirer les granges picardes, les « petites écoles » et le mur d’enceinte formant un jardin arboré carré presque fermé. Sur environ 3 hectares sont plantés 300 arbres fruitiers : pommiers, poiriers, cerisiers, pêchés, pruniers mais aussi châtaigniers, noyers et noisetiers, ainsi qu’une centaine d’arbres d’ornement. Le parc et les granges abritent également des œuvres d’art, notamment à l’occasion des expositions d’art contemporain ou à titre durable.